Integration Plugins Introduction

Introduction


Trackurly has the ability to integrate with third-party applications. If you have such an integration plugin installed and configured, Trackurly will maintain the users database (table) in the third-party script, so that your Trackurly subscribers can be automatically added to your Bulletin Board, CMS, or Help Desk users database. When their subscription expires, users will be automatically disabled or (if configured) removed from the third-party database.

Please note — this integration is one-way: users are copied from Trackurly to the third-party script, and never vice-versa (never from the third-party script to Trackurly). The latter would require changes to your third-party script that would be hard to maintain and would also make make upgrading your third-party script more difficult. The exception to this is when a user already exists and the correct options have been chosen in the third-party script setup, in the circumstances described under “How Third-Party Integration Works”.

Also, if the user has the same username and password in Trackurly and a third-party script, it is often possible to implement a single-login, also called “Single sign-on (SSO).” With Single sign-on (SSO) when a user is logged into Trackurly he/she is automatically logged into the third-party script, and vice-versa.

How Third-Party Integration Works

When a user signs up in Trackurly, Trackurly checks to see if that user already exists in the third-party users database. If a user with the same username exists in the third-party database signup is not allowed. (The following works if the “auto-create” option is enabled in plugin settings.) The customer can instead log into Trackurly with his username and password from a third-party script and an Trackurly account will be created for him.

If there is no such account in the third-party script, the user will be allowed to signup in Trackurly. As the user completes payment, Trackurly immediately upgrades his record in the third-party database (if it exists) or creates a new customer account with the permissions configured in “Integrations” settings.

Once a user’s subscription expires or the user is removed from the Trackurly database, Trackurly sets up a “default” usergroup in the third-party database for this user, or removes his record completely (if configured and supported by plugin).

2 Ways to Configure Integration Plugins

  1. Disable new user registration completely (using third-party script admin controls) and set links to Trackurly’s signup page for new users;
  2. Keep user registration enabled in the third-party script, but restrict the default usergroup (using third-party script admin controls). Create a new usergroup (for paid users) and configure Trackurly to assign that “paid” usergroup to paid customers.

Leave A Comment?